Band Spotlight / Breather / FFO: Thrice, Saosin and Deftones


BREATHER Announce Debut EP Release

‘The Blue EP’ due out 18 Oct via Through Love Records

New single ‘Golden Soul’ released:

Listen Here

This week we are featuring another band who we feel that you NEED to be listening to. We have picked out British Rock band ‘BREATHER’ for this week, and let us know in the comments if you like their music! They are also due to be releasing new music soon, and this will all be covered in the write up below, so keep scrolling!


Already causing a stir in the UK underground, British rock band Breather have  now announced their debut EP ‘The Blue’ will be released 18 October via Through Love Records. The EP is named after the band’s very first single, released a few months back.

The announcement comes alongside the release of a brand new single ‘Golden Soul’. Vocalist and guitarist Sam Irvine says “Golden Soul relates to a moment in your life where you realise you’ve committed to something that you know is not going to make you happy in the long run. You see that there is a way out of the situation, but you have to accept that it may get worse before it gets better.”

The Blue EP is a collection of songs written over the course of about a year from when the band first got together. Breather tracked and engineered everything themselves apart from drums, which were recorded at The Ranch in Southampton by Lewis Johns and Dom Wright. “We then sent the stems of the recordings to our good friend and producer in Australia Sam Bassal who, as well as producing, also plays in Aussie nu-metal band, Ocean Grove,”  says drummer Casey McHale. “Sam loved the demos and really understood the kind of production we envisioned for the EP. He mixed and mastered the tracks in his home studio in Melbourne and we couldn’t be more stoked with the outcome.”

It may be early days for Breather but their very first single picked up plays on the BBC Radio 1 Rock Show, Kerrang! Radio Fresh Blood and Amazing Radio, they’ve been tipped by Rock Sound and have already played a clutch of shows including a support slot with Holding Absence. Plus their videos have garnered tens of thousands of views on YouTube.

‘The Blue’ EP tracklisting:
1. The Blue
2. Hollow
3. Diamond Bones
4. Your Body Separates
5. Cut The Rope
6. Golden Soul

Breather are:
Sam Irvine – Vocals, Guitar  | Ryan Gilbanks – Guitar
Casey McHale – Drums  | Paul Foster – Guitar, Vocals

Connect with Breather:
Twitter  | Facebook  | Official Site

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s