REVIEW / Boston Manor’s ‘Welcome to the Neighborhood’.


Finally, the new Boston Manor album is out for us all to enjoy. To celebrate this, Tony gave it a listen in full, and you can read his review below.

The Lancashire Pop Punks are back. Welcome To The Neighbourhood is the second album from the boys from Blackpool. If fans are expecting a similar experience to Be Nothing (Boston Manor’s debut album) then they can expect only disappointment. That’s not to say this new album won’t be liked. It is known that the band scrapped all their initial follow up recordings, and started fresh earlier this year, and what they have produced is a much more matured sound.

The album opens with the title track of the album. Layered synths give the song an atmospheric feel, and introduces listeners to the new sound of the band very nicely. Welcome To The Neighbourhood hints towards life in Blackpool and how the residents of the British seaside town feel, and the song is built around that ‘Welcome to the Neighbourhood, If you could leave you would’.

The next two tracks ‘Flowers In Your Dustbin’ and ‘Halo’ stay with the theme of life in Blackpool, the latter referring to an obvious drug issue the town has. Flowers In Your Dustbin is a much more energetic song, with a catchy chorus, distorted guitar riffs and a simple sounding but effective baseline. Although ‘Halo’ has a dark lyrical content, it contains another catchy chorus which will stick in a lot of people’s heads.

The album is heavily influenced by the bands experiences of living in and the lifestyles commonly seen in Blackpool, mostly negative. The single ‘Bad Machine’ sums this up by telling the story of someone down on their luck and everything seemingly going wrong.

The album finishes as it started, dark and depressing. ‘The Day That I Ruined Your Life’ tells the story of a breakup, using synths, acoustic guitars and distortion to build an appropriate atmosphere.

Welcome To The Neighbourhood is an excellent second offering from a band who are great at storytelling and creating the right mood to fit the lyrics. This is a beautiful album and a must listen for everyone.


  1. Welcome To The Neighbourhood
  2. Flowers In Your Dustbin
  3. Halo
  4. England’s Dreaming
  5. Funeral Party
  6. Digital Ghost
  7. Tunnel Vision
  8. Bad Machine
  9. If I Can’t Have It No One Can
  10. Hate You
  11. FY1
  12. Stick Up
  13. The Day That I Ruined Your Life

You can also catch the band on tour this month in the UK, more details here. 

And let us know in the comments your favourite tracks from the album!

One thought on “REVIEW / Boston Manor’s ‘Welcome to the Neighborhood’.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s