Mike Shinoda – ‘Post Traumatic’ Album Review

Anyone who is a fan of Mike Shinoda will be aware that his debut solo album was written in the aftermath of Chester Bennington’s passing. Being aware of this enlightens listeners when they hear the first track ‘Place To Start’

Aptly named, ‘Place To Start’ is the beginning of Mike Shinoda’s journey in coping with the loss of his friend. The track is slow and full of emotion. Straight away, listeners are aware of the writer being in a dark place and wondering what life is about. Whilst a different sound to Linkin Park, the writing and lyrical style is true to Mike Shinoda’s style that will keep fans happy. The track ends with voicemail messages from Mark Fiore, Ted Stryker, Phoenix (Linkin Park) and others whom were checking in on Mike Shinoda following Chester Bennington’s death.

The next two tracks are also taken from the ‘Post Traumatic EP’ (released January 2019) and along with the opener, the three are considered the “grieving” portion of the album. ‘Over Again’ describes the experiences Mike Shinoda had when playing a show in honour of Chester Bennington at the Hollywood Bowl, while ‘Watching As I Fall’ deals with a darker place including feelings of depression and how other people were seeing the situation.

Moving away from the three EP tracks, ‘Nothing Makes Sense Anymore’ is a song filled with metaphors that Mike Shinoda has said related to how he saw the world after the tragic event. This track has a different sound to the first three, there are more effects on the vocals, and the music is lighter giving a sense of less grief, though you can still hear the anguish and confusion throughout the track. It was released as a double single with track seven ‘Crossing A Line’, which when heard shows an obvious change from the early tracks of the album in terms of how Mike Shinoda was feeling when it was written – he has gone through the dark place and is now coming out of it, in to the light and moving on, but at the same time wants Chester Bennington to know that he won’t be forgotten.

The album goes on, continuing the journey Mike Shinoda went on after the death of his best friend, with some tracks featuring artists such as blackbear, K. Flay, Chino Moreno, Machine Gun Kelly and Grandson. Songs cover topics and feelings such finding it hard to move on when people keep asking how you are, escapism

Track thirteen ‘I.O.U.’ was originally a ‘Fort Minor’ song and this is referenced in the lyrics. Mike Shinoda friends said “once they heard [him] talking sh*t in a rap song, they knew [he] was getting better”.

Overall fans won’t be disappointed with Mike Shinoda’s debut solo album. Sixteen tracks covering the journey Mike went on after Chester Bennington passed away. If anyone has been through something similar then they may even find this album inspirational. Although covering a lot of deep and dark feelings, Mike Shinoda’s creativity and lyrical prowess shine throughout. On top of the album, Mike also released videos to accompany most of the tracks on his YouTube channel. While some are more “traditional” music videos, others are almost ‘vlog’ style with Mike filming himself singing the songs and include clips from other videos he recorded at the time of writing the songs.

‘Post Traumatic’ is definitely worth having in your collection, and I think a lot of people will be able to relate to a lot of songs and maybe it will help some people get through hard times.



  1. Place To Start
  2. Over Again
  3. Watching As I Fall
  4. Nothing Makes Sense Anymore
  5. About You
  6. Brooding
  7. Promises I Can’t Keep
  8. Crossing A Line
  9. Hold It Together
  10. Ghosts
  11. Make It Up As I Go
  12. Lift Off
  13. I.O.U
  14. Running From My Shadow
  15. World’s On Fire
  16. Can’t Hear You Now

Available here :http://mshnd.co/PT or http://www.mikeshinoda.com/

Written by Tony McNab

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s